What is the phone number to the Insurance
Who may file a claim against the State of
Anyone who has sustained bodily injury or property damage which they believe was caused by the negligence of the State of Maryland or State of Maryland personnel may file a claim under the Maryland Tort Claims Act, which is set forth in the Maryland Code, State Government Article, §§ 12-101, et. seq.
How do I file a claim?
All claims must be submitted in writing, and must include the following data:
• A concise statement of facts describing the nature of the claim, including date, place and time of occurrence;
• A demand for specific damages;
• Names and addresses of all parties; name, address, and telephone number of counsel for the claimant, if any;
• Must be signed by the claimant his legal representative, or counsel.
A Notice of Claim form is available for submitting your claim.
Where do I send my claim?
Your written statement or Notice of Claim must be sent to:
Nancy K. Kopp, Treasurer
c/o Insurance Division
Louis L. Goldstein Treasury Building
80 Calvert Street, Room 400
Annapolis, MD 21401
Is there a time limit for filing a claim?
All claims must be submitted in writing to the Treasurer or a designee of the Treasurer within 1 year after the injury to person or property that is the basis of the claim.
What if I send my claim to another State
This does not meet the requirements of the Maryland Tort Claims Act. You may obtain a claim form from a State Agency. However, the written notice must be sent to the Treasurer's Office in order to be considered valid notice to the State.
How can I determine the current status of my
You may call the Insurance Division at 410.260.7684 or 1.800.942.0162 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.
What accident coverage does the State provide for its
The State does not provide accident coverage for volunteers injured performing assignments for State agencies. In the event that a volunteer is injured in the course of service due to the negligence of the State, they may submit a claim for their injuries under the Maryland Tort Claims Act.
State Agency Claims
How does a State Agency file a claim?
A claim form must be completed and submitted to the Insurance Division. The form can be mailed, faxed or e-mailed.
Where can a State Agency get claim forms?
You can request forms by phone, or click here for Insurance Forms.
Is there a time limit for filing a claim?
When a unit of State government seeks reimbursement from the State Insurance Trust Fund for an occurrence of loss, damage or liability, the unit shall file its claim with the Treasurer within 60 days after the unit discovers the loss, damage or liability. COMAR 25.02.06.01A
I'm not sure if I should file a claim. Who can discuss
this with me?
Call the Insurance Division at 410.260.7684 or 1.800.942.0162 between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.
Do I need to get more than one estimate of repairs for
The Insurance Division urges you to comply with the State procurement procedures with regard to obtaining repair estimates for property damaged as a result of a loss. We do not require that you get a certain number of estimates. However, we strongly recommend that you get competitive estimates prior to having the damages repaired.
How are claims paid?
After the State agency pays for the covered damages, they submit proof of payment to the Insurance Division. This should include a copy of an itemized estimate or invoice and proof of payment such as a copy of the credit card charge slip or statement, a copy of the payment information if paid via R*STARS, or a copy of a check. The State agency will then be reimbursed for the covered damages.
Is there a deductible on each claim we
Yes, the first $1,000 of value of each loss, damage, or liability occurrence of a unit shall be paid from its appropriations in the State budget.
If a State agency mistakenly pays sales tax on a repair
or replacement invoice, will the Insurance Division reimburse the
No. Since the State is exempt from sales tax, this amount will be deducted from the total amount to be reimbursed.
State Agency Risk Management
If I take State owned property out of Maryland, is it
Yes, for covered perils since there is no territory limitation for property coverage.
Can the Insurance Division advise me whether or not a
driver of a State owned vehicle is covered?
No. The Maryland Tort Claims Act defines who is covered in Section 12-101. Should you require assistance with its interpretation, contact your Assistant Attorney General.
Can the Insurance Division grant permission for someone
to operate a State owned vehicle?
No. The Insurance Division cannot grant permission to someone to operate a State owned vehicle.
Where can I learn more about the use and operation of
State owned vehicles?
The Department of Budget & Management State Vehicle Fleet Policies and Procedures manual.
If a Maryland State employee drives their personal
vehicle during work, are they insured?
This is a complex question with many answers depending upon the time, place and circumstances of the incident. Please refer to the following legal memorandum for a detailed analysis: Risks and Liabilities of Automobile Use within the Scope of Public Duties.
If State personal property or equipment is stolen, is it
No. A claim for theft or other disappearance of an Agency's personal property may not be accepted under any insurance program provided by the Treasurer. A unit of State government shall be solely responsible for the care and custody of its property. COMAR 25.02.06.02
Are State owned "Fine Arts" insured?
Yes, for the same perils as other contents. However, if there is an article of fine arts that the Treasurer determines is irreplaceable, the indemnity shall be only for the repair of damage.
I've been asked to provide a Certificate of Insurance.
What exactly is a Certificate of Insurance?
A certificate of insurance is a document that provides evidence of insurance. Other parties routinely require evidence of insurance coverage for various types of contracts. Examples may be for the lease or rental of real or personal property, the lease or rental of a vehicle, or for special events.
How do I obtain a Certificate of
Please submit your written request for a certificate of insurance to the Insurance Division, attention of Felicia Stewart, Underwriter. The request must contain your name, telephone number and fax number, the name and address of your State agency, a brief description of why you need the certificate and the name and address of the organization requesting the verification of insurance from you. You can e-mail your request to Felicia at firstname.lastname@example.org or fax it to her at: 410.974.3522.
How long does it take to obtain a Certificate of
Insurance from the Insurance Division once the request is properly
Please allow at least 5 business days for processing.
If you didn't find the answers to your questions, please contact us by clicking here.